Subscribe to our newsletter!


* indicates required

Google Plus

You are here


Clockwork Crow swoops onto Blue Peter longlist

Firefly's new magical middle-grade story of snow and stars, The Clockwork Crow, by Catherine Fisher, has been longlisted for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 in the Best Story category.

Launched this month, The Clockwork Crow tells the story of spirited orphan Seren Rhys, and her cantankerous companion, the Crow, as they seek to unravel a mystery which takes them deep into a dangerous fairytale landscape.

Set in Victorian mid Wales the Christmas novel has been hailed as, ‘A marvellous book, and a book of marvels, shivery with suspense, snow and sinister magic,’ by Amanda Craig.  And writing in The Guardian Imogen Russell Williams said: ‘Full of deep fairytale resonance, Fisher’s writing stands out in the mind’s eye like blood drops on snow.’

‘We are so delighted that The Clockwork Crow has been longlisted for this iconic children’s award,' said Firefly publisher Penny Thomas. Catherine is one of the best fantasy writers in the UK today and this classic, thrilling tale enchants from the very first page, taking the reader on an adventure deep into our mythological past.’

Catherine Fisher added: ‘I am absolutely delighted that The Clockwork Crow has reached the Blue Peter longlist. It's an honour to be included among such talented company.’

The Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 has 10 titles longlisted for the Best Story category. The shortlist will be announced on the Blue Peter show on 8 November. 

Catherine Fisher, was Wales’ first Young People's Laureate (2011-2013) and has won a number of awards for her work. Her bestselling books include The Times Children’s Book of the year Incarceron, The Snow-Walker trilogy, the Oracle trilogy and the Chronoptika series. Find out more at

To buy the Clockwork Crow order here