Subscribe to our newsletter!

 

* indicates required

Google Plus

You are here

Home » Books

The Territory

by Sarah Govett

Published May 2015

pb £3.99 HALF PRICE LATE SUMMER SALE (RRP £7.99)

Buy now in the Firefly BuzzShop

YA dystopia, first in trilogy

The second in the series is The Territory: Escape - details here

The Territory is a gripping fantasy thriller set in a future Britain where unflooded land is scarce. Everyone must pass an exam at 15 to stay in The Territory or be exiled to the disease-ridden Wetlands. But how can Noa compete when the system is skewed to favour rich kids who can upload information through a Node in the back of their neck? And how can she focus when her heart is being pulled in two directions?

'If you are looking for a book purely on the quality and uniqueness of the story then this is a great one for you.mrripleysenchantedbooks.com 

 

'Brilliantly plotted, utterly gripping and a devastating critique of a results-obsessed education system. This is a book you won't be able to put down. I can't wait for part two!' Gemma Malley, author of The Declaration.

 

The Guardian Children's Books online: Truly heart wrenching! Govett raises issues about our education system, the environment and questions the decisions governments across the world are making. I’d go as far as to call this the 1984 of our time and recommend this as a great read, with a fantastic political context.

 

Imogen Russell Williams, Metro: Gripping dystopia with a keen political edge.

 

The Times: A thrilling and thought-provoking dystopian novel … with a lot to say about our education system.
 

Martin Chilton, The Telegraph 21 best YA books of 2015: a pacy dystopian fantasy thriller.

 

Book Trust: This is a truly exceptional novel, exciting, gripping and intense, with relatable protagonists whose agonies become the reader’s own. It deals with complex moral dilemmas regarding loyalty, self-preservation and family, forcing the reader to answer the uncomfortable question: who deserves to live when spaces are limited? This is the first of a trilogy and the final cliff-hanger will leave you clamouring for more.

 

Children’s Books Ireland: Govett has created a powerful and shocking novel that makes the reader wonder how societies would deal with the environmental consequences of climate change and if there could ever be any ‘right’ course of action… an … excellent, thought-provoking book. 

 

Books for Keeps: it’s an enjoyable, fast-paced read, and raises some interesting questions about how you would behave in difficult situations, as well as being a clear indictment of the UK education system. It’s the first in a trilogy and I’ll be interested to see how the story progresses.

 

Bookwitch: The Territory is a terrific book. It simply is.

 

Yourbestbookpal: I loved every second of this book it was phenomenal.

 

Zoe Toft, ‘Playing by the Book’: A page turner with cinematic qualities set against a backdrop of catastrophic climate change, Sarah Govett writes with a natural ease and freshness. I gasped an involuntary “No!” when I turned the final page; I really want to find out what happens next! Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan’s Breathe series.

 

Lovereading4kids SB Hayes (YA author of Poison Heart and Don't Look Back)The Territory had me hooked from page one, gripped by its edgy and taut plot that provides a disturbing vision of Britain in 2059. I was immediately drawn into the life Noa, an engaging and spirited protagonist soon to face an exam that will ultimately decide whether she lives or dies. The tension was almost too much to bear. The Territory is an accomplished and compelling debut that left me hungry for the next book in the trilogy.

 

Teen Librarian: More 10 Things I Hate About You than The Hunger Games; The Territory is a brilliant introduction to a dystopian society not too far removed from our own. It goes beyond the expected tropes of a grim and bloody fight for survival and instead focuses on the daily life being a second class citizen in that most relatable and terrifying of settings – high school… The Territory is a believable, exciting read that had me hanging on every word and left me wanting to find out more about a world that could be our future.

 

Scintillating Suze I love the world Sarah Govett has created. I like her version of what would happen if water claims the land. The Territory is such a good book. The pressure is slowly building when the exam date is coming closer. Because of this I couldn't stop reading. The Territory is a great page-turner and the ending is really good an unexpected. This is a fabulous first book and I can't wait to read more.

 

Bookaholics: The Territory was an interesting read which really explores a lot of thought provoking subjects … I'd certainly recommend it to fans of the genre and will be looking forward to book two.

 

Writing Lark/My Book Corner: Fans of dystopian novels will love The Territory. Even if you’re less keen on this genre, it’s a gripping read. From page one, it draws you in and keeps you turning the page, willing Noa and her friends to pass the test. It asks important questions, about social justice and our own education system, where money buys you a potential head start and an unfair advantage on those less fortunate. At its worse, the Ministry’s elitist policies echo the Nazi ideology of a ‘Master Race,’ restricting artistic expression and the right to protest. It also makes you wonder about the selfish will to survive that is in us all. Would you conform to a system just to be safe, at the expense of your closest friends and even your family? The Territory doesn’t answer these questions for you but leaves you wanting more. Just as well it looks like The Territory is the first in a series…

 

BCF Books Reviews: a fast paced story, which kept me turning those pages to find out what would happen next. It has a satisfying conclusion, but is all set up for the rest of the trilogy, which I’m waiting impatiently for.