Subscribe to our newsletter!


* indicates required

Google Plus

You are here

Home » Authors

Paul Magrs

Paul was born in the North East of England and educated at Woodham Comp, Newton Aycliffe and Lancaster University. He was a lecturer in Creative Writing and English Literature at UEA for seven years, running their famous MA course, and then did the same job at MMU in Manchester for a further seven years. More recently he’s written full time, at home in Levenshulme, near Manchester, where he lives with his partner Jeremy Hoad.

He’s published a number of YA novels – Strange Boy (2002), Exchange (2006, shortlisted for the Book Trust Teen Book Award and longlisted for the Carnegie), Diary of a Dr Who Addict (2010 shortlisted for the Leeds Book Prize) and for younger readers – Hands up! (2003), Twin Freaks (2007), The Ninnies (2012). He will be publishing The Story of Fester Cat with Berkley/Penguin USA in November 2014.  He’s also published five original Doctor Who novels with BBC books, and over twenty original Doctor Who audiobooks / full cast dramas produced by Big Finish Productions and BBC Audio / Audiogo. He’s written for almost all the living Doctors!

Paul said about his inspiration for the book: ‘With my Mars series I want to write a grand science fiction epic set on another planet, about human beings surviving in incredible new circumstances and encountering mysterious and fascinating new ideas. I also want it to be a family story, full of great characters that we come to care for and identify with as they embark on a quest that will take them into the heart of the mystery of the planet Mars.’

The first in his epic Sci-Fi series Lost on Mars was published in May 2015 and the sequel The Martian Girl was published in Autumn 2016.